Search for a tourmaline October birthstone ring and two genuinely different products come back. One is a ring set with mineral tourmaline, the gem species that the Gemological Institute of America, the American Gem Society and Jewelers of America all list for October alongside opal (GIA, AGS, Jewelers of America). The other is a ring set with a pink stone chosen to represent October visually, which may be a simulant such as cubic zirconia, crystal or glass. Both can be good gifts. Only one of them is tourmaline, and the difference should be printed on the product page rather than guessed from a photograph.
This guide is written for the person buying for someone else's October birthday. It covers what the stone line on a listing means, how tourmaline and opal differ once a ring is worn daily, and exactly how each Awareness Avenue October design describes itself. Every product detail below was read from the live Awareness Avenue product pages on October 19, 2026; variants, prices and stock change, so confirm on the page before checkout.
How to choose an October tourmaline ring in 60 seconds
Opal and tourmaline are October’s two birthstones. The first question is whether the recipient wants an actual gemstone or a pink color representation. The U.S. Federal Trade Commission has warned sellers that a non-mined stone must not carry a gemstone name without a clear qualifier such as laboratory-grown, imitation or simulated (FTC). The second question is how often the ring will be worn, because that is where tourmaline and opal genuinely differ.
October birthstone picks from Awareness Avenue: rings first, matching pieces after
AA has an indexed October simulated-pink-tourmaline collection containing a ring, necklace and bracelet. The pieces below are the designs in the reviewed Awareness Avenue set whose live descriptions connect them to October by stone description. Browse the wider shop simulated pink October birthstone jewelry collection for current options, prices and stock.
Before buying, verify: stone identity; treatment; metal construction; dimensions; size/resize rules; stock class; return terms; warranty exclusions.
-
October Tourmaline Birthstone Ring - S925 Sterling Silver
- Stone identity: Unknown. The live description says only "tourmaline-colored centerpiece" and does not state natural, laboratory-grown or simulated.
- Treatment: Not disclosed by seller.
- Metal: S925 Sterling Silver.
- Ring sizes: US 5–12, including half sizes.
- Setting: Centerpiece, as described by the seller.
- Price: The AA collection displayed the October ring at $149.95 when checked on 19 October 2026. Reconfirm on the live listing.
- Return class: Not stated on the product page; confirm the applicable class and terms via the refund policy and the made-to-order returns policy.
- Warranty: Seller states a lifetime warranty; AA's FAQ limits coverage to eligible manufacturing or craftsmanship defects and excludes accidents, improper use and normal wear.
- Best for: A straightforward October-color ring in one well-known metal with a broad size run.
- Limitation: The stone is not identified as natural, laboratory-grown or simulated, so ask before you treat it as mineral tourmaline.
- Last checked: October 19, 2026.
See the October birthstone ring listing and its exact stone line
-
Stellaris Bypass Ring - Solid Gold
- Stone identity: Simulated pink tourmaline, described by the seller as precision-cut A5 grade.
- Treatment: Not disclosed by seller.
- Metal: Solid 14K and 18K white, yellow and rose gold.
- Gold variants: The listing describes the same simulated pink tourmaline across its gold options; no stone substitution is stated for this design.
- Ring sizes: US 5–13, plus an "Adjustable (Fits Size 5-10)" option.
- Setting: Bypass, low-profile setting, as described by the seller.
- Price: Check the live product page for current pricing and currency.
- Return class: Not stated on the product page; confirm the applicable class and terms via the refund policy.
- Warranty: Seller states a lifetime warranty; confirm scope and exclusions for this SKU.
- Best for: A buyer who specifically wants solid gold, or one who does not know the recipient's exact size and is considering the adjustable option.
- Limitation: An open adjustable band is handled differently from a fixed shank; ask how the adjustment works and whether it affects returns.
- Last checked: October 19, 2026.
-
The Amourette Ring
- Stone identity (verified base variant): On the S925 sterling silver option the seller describes an 8.0mm heart-cut simulated pink tourmaline (A5 cubic zirconia).
- Gold variants — stone changes: The same listing states that all 10K/14K/18K orders include an automatic upgrade to VVS moissanite centre and accent stones. The 14K and 18K white gold options therefore do not ship with the simulated pink tourmaline described above. Confirm the exact stone on the variant you select.
- Treatment: Not disclosed by seller.
- Metal: S925 Sterling Silver, 14K White Gold, 18K White Gold.
- Stone dimensions: 8.0mm heart-cut centre stone (base variant).
- Ring sizes: US 3–13, including half sizes.
- Setting: Claw setting with halo, as described by the seller.
- Price: Check the live product page for current pricing and currency.
- Return class: Not stated on the product page; confirm the applicable class and terms before ordering.
- Warranty: Seller states a lifetime warranty; confirm scope and exclusions for this SKU.
- Best for: A romantic, color-led October gift in sterling silver where the material is spelled out on the page.
- Limitation: A heart cut has an exposed point; whatever the material, a protruding corner is more vulnerable to knocks than a rounded outline.
- Last checked: October 19, 2026.
View the sterling silver simulated pink tourmaline heart ring
-
The Adorise Opal Ring
AA’s indexed bezel-set collection lists the Adorise Opal Ring.
- Stone identity (verified base variant): On the S925 sterling silver option the seller describes a 6mm round white opal cabochon with brilliant natural zircon accents. The listing does not state whether the opal is natural, laboratory-created or assembled.
- Gold variants — stone changes: The same listing states that all 10K/14K/18K orders include an automatic upgrade to VVS moissanite centre and accent stones. Do not assume the opal centre carries across the gold options; confirm the exact stone for any gold or vermeil variant before ordering.
- Treatment: Not disclosed by seller.
- Metal: S925 Sterling Silver, 18K Gold Vermeil, 18K Rose Gold Vermeil, and 14K/18K solid white, yellow and rose gold.
- Stone dimensions: 6mm round centre stone (base variant).
- Ring sizes: Live variant options run US 3–13 including half sizes, while the description text says 4 to 12; check the size selector on the page.
- Setting: Three-stone design with bezel settings, as described by the seller.
- Price: Check the live product page for current pricing and currency.
- Return class: Seller describes a made-to-order piece with a 15-day crafting period; see the made-to-order returns policy for the terms that apply.
- Warranty: Seller states a lifetime warranty; confirm scope and exclusions for this SKU.
- Best for: An October recipient who wants the traditional opal look and is comfortable with the extra care opal needs.
- Limitation: Made-to-order timing affects delivery planning around a birthday, and opal is softer than tourmaline.
- Last checked: October 19, 2026.
-
October Tourmaline Birthstone Necklace - S925 Sterling Silver
- Stone identity: Unknown. The description refers both to a "tourmaline-colored gemstone" and, in its materials list, to "Ethical Simulated Diamonds".
- Treatment: Not disclosed by seller.
- Metal: Seller describes a silver base with platinum plating.
- Sizes: Adjustable – one size.
- Setting: Pendant.
- Price: Check the live product page for current pricing and currency.
- Return class: Seller describes the piece as made to order; see the made-to-order returns policy.
- Warranty: Seller states a lifetime warranty; confirm scope and exclusions for this SKU.
- Best for: A matching gift alongside the October tourmaline-color ring.
- Limitation: The product copy describes the stones inconsistently; ask the seller to confirm the exact material before buying.
- Last checked: October 19, 2026.
-
October Tourmaline Birthstone Bracelet - S925 Sterling Silver
- Stone identity: Unknown. The live description says only "tourmaline-colored stones".
- Treatment: Not disclosed by seller.
- Metal: S925 Sterling Silver.
- Sizes: Adjustable strap – one size.
- Setting: Station-style bracelet, as pictured and described by the seller.
- Price: Check the live product page for current pricing and currency.
- Return class: Not stated on the product page; confirm the applicable class and terms before ordering.
- Warranty: Seller states a lifetime warranty; confirm scope and exclusions for this SKU.
- Best for: An adjacent October gift to complete a set.
- Limitation: The stone is not identified as natural, laboratory-grown or simulated.
- Last checked: October 19, 2026.
What color is October’s birthstone?
October does not have one exclusive birthstone color. Tourmaline occurs in a broad range of colors, including pink, red, green and blue, and some crystals show more than one color. Pink is a familiar retail representation of October tourmaline, but it is not tourmaline's only color. Precious opal can display shifting spectral colors known as play-of-color.
Natural, lab-grown or simulated: what are you buying?
- Natural: mined material of the named species.
- Laboratory-grown: a laboratory-grown gemstone should have essentially the same optical, physical and chemical properties as the named natural stone.
- Simulated: a simulated stone resembles another gemstone but is made from a different material.
Certain gemstone treatments must be disclosed when they are non-permanent, require special care or significantly affect value. A GIA colored-stone report can identify whether material is natural or synthetic and list detectable treatments. Our birthstone ring buying guide works through the same terminology across other months.
Tourmaline vs opal for a ring
Tourmaline is 7–7.5 on the Mohs scale and is generally suitable for everyday wear. Opal ranges from 5–6.5 on the Mohs scale and requires more care against scratching and impact; GIA recommends a protective setting for a wearer who is hard on jewelry. Neither stone is indestructible, and hardness alone does not protect a stone from a knock.
Choose by the recipient’s lifestyle
This is an editorial judgement drawn from the durability evidence above, not a measured claim about buyers. For frequent ring wear, tourmaline is generally the more practical of October’s two stones. If the recipient is an occasional wearer or careful with jewelry, traditional opal is a beautiful option. For a color-first shopper, a clearly disclosed simulated pink stone gives the October look without a gemstone price.
Setting, metal and sizing checklist
Check whether the design you like can be resized at all before assuming a fix is available later; open bands, halos and bezel-heavy shanks are not all equally adjustable. "Solid 14K gold", "18K gold vermeil" and "S925 sterling silver" describe different constructions. Vermeil is a gold layer over a sterling base, so the surface layer is finite by definition. Getting the size right before you order avoids an exchange you may not want to manage close to a birthday.
Can you get opal and tourmaline in one ring or necklace?
The search phrases "opal and tourmaline ring" and "opal and pink tourmaline ring" mean exactly what they say: both stones present in the same item, each identified separately. Pairing a separate opal ring with a separate tourmaline-color ring does not satisfy that brief. Among the designs reviewed here, none combines opal and tourmaline in one piece.
Care instructions
Clean tourmaline with warm soapy water and a soft brush; avoid steam and ultrasonic cleaning, and keep it away from heat. Warm soapy water is the safe cleaning method for opal; avoid high heat and sudden temperature changes.
Returns, warranty and birthday delivery
Return, warranty and shipping terms should be checked for the exact item because AA’s indexed policy pages contain different terms for different product classes and pages. A stock item and a made-to-order item are not handled the same way, so confirm which applies to the SKU you choose on the refund policy and made-to-order pages before the birthday.
FAQ
What is the October 4th birthstone?
An October 4 or October 22 birthday uses the same month-based birthstones: opal and tourmaline.
What is the October 22 birthstone?
An October 4 or October 22 birthday uses the same month-based birthstones: opal and tourmaline.
What is the September birthstone color?
September's birthstone is sapphire; blue is the familiar color, although sapphire occurs in other colors.
Does a Pandora October birthstone ring contain tourmaline?
Some Pandora October birthstone products use crystal; check the exact regional product page rather than assuming the stone is tourmaline.
Final buying checklist
- Does the stone line say natural, laboratory-grown or simulated — in those words?
- If you are choosing a gold variant, which stone actually ships with it?
- Does the metal line distinguish solid gold, vermeil or sterling silver?
- Is the ring size available, and can the design be adjusted if it is wrong?
- Is the item stock or made-to-order, and which return terms apply?
- Does the care guidance match how often the recipient will wear it?







Leave a comment
This site is protected by hCaptcha and the hCaptcha Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.